Saturday, February 22, 2014

OVERLAND / Epic (2014)

Steve Overland is well-known as the lead singer of the legendary AOR band of FM. With his main band Overland, he released some really great albums in the past such as "Aphrodisiac", "Tough It Out" and "Takin' It To The Streets" to name a few. The band has, also, released last year the amazing "Rockville I & II".

So, nowadays, this so talented artist is back with his brand new solo album which is entitled "Epic". For this new opus, Overland collaborates with some of the biggest names of the AOR world scene such as Christian Wolff (Rob Moratti) on guitars & keyboards, Larry Antonino on bass and Jay Schellen on drums (both from Unruly Child), Mike Slamer (handling additional guitars, bass, keyboards, production and arrangement), Billy Greer (Kansas, Seventh Key), Billy Trudel (The City, Dirty White Boy) and Fredrik Bergh (Street Talk, Bloodbound) and the result is just pure melodic heaven!!

The sound of the album, as you all already understand, is pure melodic rock/AOR with big guitars, sing-a-long choruses to die for, an amazing musicianship (with all these musicians what else could it be?), epic keys but, most of all, superb performances by this so talented artist!

Every song here is a clear winner; there is no filler in sight! From the brilliant up-tempo opener tune of "Radio Radio", to the FM-ish rocker of "If Looks Could Kill" that includes a killer chorus, the arena-rocker "Down Comes The Night", the stunning sing-a-long "So This Is Love", to the last one classic-AOR tune of "Time For Letting Go" every track here is pure delight, a candy to my ear!

I think that there is nothing more to add here except that "Epic" is a real masterpiece in todays AOR/Melodic Rock scene and, of course, a must have for each and every single fan of this genre! If the big melodies, great performances, the catchy hooks and choruses, the extremely melodic guitar lines are your thing, then look no further; "Epic" has all these above mentioned things and more.....
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 10/10

Track listing :
01. Radio Radio
02. If Looks Could Kill
03. Stranded
04. Rags To Riches
05. Liberate My Heart
06. Down Comes The Night
07. If Your Heart’s Not In It
08. Rock Me
09. So This Is Love
10. Wild
11. The End Of The Road
12. Time For Letting Go

1 comment:

  1. Epic is Epic as it gets !

    Very fair review !