Tuesday, November 20, 2012


BLOODBOUND was founded in summer 2004 by Tomas Olsson and Fredrik Bergh. Soon they recorded a demo and got a contract for Europe and Asia instantly. The debut Nosferatu was released in 2006 and yielded best critiques. Consequently they played shows with bands like Sabaton, Arch Enemy, Pretty Maids and Evergrey. But 2006 was also characterized by line-up changes which didn’t pass unnoticed, particularly as singer Urban Breed left BLOODBOUND after the tour to focus on his solo project.

But soon Michael Bormann (ex-Jaded Heart) was found to fill the gap and so the second album Book Of The Dead was recorded and released in 2007. The result: position # 66 in the Swedish album charts. But shortly after the release of Book Of The Deadit became obvious – Michael´s other obligations did not allow enough time for BLOODBOUND.

To play the already booked shows they could convince Urban Breed to return to the band. And it became more than some gigs. Urban stayed for another tour supporting Hammerfall and recorded the next album Tabula Rasa with the band on which more modern and hard elements have been added to BLOODBOUND’s sound. Numerous festival shows as well as another tour with Hammerfall followed. But in 2010 the band parted ways with Urban Breed again.

So, the search for a new shouter began and it ended at the name of Patrik “Pata” Johansson (Dawn Of Silence). The band was satisfied with the new singer and the chemistry was just right –“Unholy Cross“ is the definitive proof.

"In The Name Of Metal" which opens the album is an extremely catchy metal tune!! And when I say catchy, I mean: loud with blistering guitars, powerful performances and a catchy as hell chorus line!! "When Demons Collide" is another thunderous metal tune with a bombastic guitar work and nice arrangements. "Bonebreaker" is an from 80's metal scene influenced song while "Metalheads Unite" has a powerful and heavier sound with an in-your-face attitude!! "Sons Of Babylon", "Mr. Darkness" and "I'm Mr. Evil" are all three very good heavy cuts with strong arrangements and solid performances. "Monstermind"  has a nice groove and "King Of Fallen Grace" is killer tune!!! Pedal to the metal with a monstrous chorus and some really impressive riffs and solos!!! Absolutely perfect!!!! "Black Devil" is a more straight forward heavy rock song and "Bounded By Blood" which closes the album is another impressive song!

All in all, this is an extremely interesting release! I liked the band's "Book Of The Dead" release but I have to say that this one is by far their best album to date. It has attitude, heavy in-your-face guitars, pounding drums, solid performances, a tight musicianship and a passion for playin' ass-kickin' metal!!!! Well done!!!
HeavyParadise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List :
1. In The Name Of Metal
2. When Demons Collide
3. Bonebreaker
4. Metalheads Unite
5. Son Of Babylon
6. Mr. Darkness
7. I’m Evil
8. Monstermind
9. King Of Fallen Grace
10. Black Devil
11. Bounded By Blood
12. Book Of The Dead 2012 

No comments:

Post a Comment