Thursday, December 17, 2015

REVIEW : NORDIC UNION / Nordic Union (2016)

NORDIC UNION is the new 'hot' name in the melodic hard rock/metal scene, built by Frontiers President Serafino Perugino, and consists of the legendary singer Ronnie Atkins of the Danish Hard Rock monster band of PRETTY MAIDS and the amazing Swedish songwriter and producer Erik Martensson (ECLIPSE and W.E.T.).

R. Atkins says about this new exciting collaboration : “The music on the album has a focus on good melodies and there’s some good guitar work as well. I had a good gut feeling ever since I heard the first songs from Erik Martensson, and I was right he’s a very gifted and talented songwriter!” and continues "While Pretty Maids is still my first priority, the production process and the work on this record went very smoothly. I think what came out is a killer Melodic Hard Rock album with a  lot of good songs on it – I could really feel the songs as mine and identify with those. So I hope the fans will be able to share my view and It’s been some kind of a little fresh breath in between albums for me really.

This new amazing record kicks-off with the breathtaking tune of "The War Has Begun". A strong Pretty Maids vibe mixed with the freshness of Eclipse and there you have a melodic hard rock monster that grabs you at once and leaves you hungry for more. Atkins' 'star' really shines here and the chorus sticks in your mind for days! "Hypocrisy' reminds a bit of Atkins's main band last two records while in "Wide Awake" we are dealing with a 'darker', still melodic, heavy rock gem that features an amazing guitar work. "When Death Is Calling" is a big and in-your-face rocker that takes no prisoners!!! Superb stuff!!! "Falling" is pure delight; it's movin' into some more 'modern' melodic hard rock paths and it is among the highlights from this new record. With "Point Of No Return" Nordic Union delivers another melodic gem with a melody to die for and a huge chorus line!!

NORDIC UNION with this debut release is about to make a big noise in the melodic hard rock/metal scene!! The collaboration between Erik Martensson of ECLIPSE and Ronnie Atkins of Pretty Maids creates this breathtaking debut record that will make proud each and every fan of this particular scene in general. A true masterpiece!

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
01. The War Has Begun
02. Hypocrisy
03. Wide Awake
04. Every Heartbeart
05. When Death Is Calling
06. 21 Guns
07. Falling
08. The Other Side
09. Point Of No Return
10. True Love Awaits You
11. Go

No comments:

Post a Comment