Sunday, September 6, 2015

REVIEW : LYNCH MOB / Rebel (2015)

Lynch Mob is one of my all time favorite hard rock/metal bands and George Lynch is my all time favorite guitarist and without any doubt one of the best, and the one who has influenced hundreds of guitarists out there for over three decades now. With Dokken, he has released some classic melodic metal records and wrote his name in the metal pantheon as a legend.

After his departure from Dokken, Mr.Scary created another super-group; Lynch Mob! The band released two excellent records, in the early of 90's, but because of the 'grunge revolution'  Lynch Mob didn't make it to become the next big thing. After a couple of average albums, the band came back in 2009 with a solid record. "Smoke And Mirrors" was a strong comeback and a very good appetizer of what's coming-up next from George Lynch.

Nowadays, Lynch Mob is back in full-force with a brand new record, the second under the Frontiers record label,which is entitled "Rebel". On the new effort, veteran musicians, such as Jeff Pilson (ex Dokken and Dio) on bass and Brian Tichy (Whitesnake, Billy Idol, Slash etc.) on drums, provides a solid core rhythm section behind a wall of sound that Lynch and Logan are well-known for.

"Rebel" kicks-off with the brilliant and heavy "Automatic Fix"! This is probably one of the best tunes that this band has ever recorded and brings back the classic Lynch Mob sound; big with a clever groove, the Lynch signature and Oni Logan's powerful performances. All the above plus a tight as hell rhythm section and there you have a great song that is gonna be a future classic. "Testify" and "Sanctuary" are two tracks that could easily appear in the band's first two albums. The main riff, the solos, the arrangements, the hooks and choruses, everything here smokes and brings back memories from another era! "Jelly Roll" is movin' to some more classic rock paths while in "Dirty Money" and "Kingdom Of Slaves" the band deals with the world's social and economic crisis.

Lynch Mob is back with another solid record that brings back the vibe and the attitude of the first two records plus an updated and fresh sound and the result is just awesome. Highly recommended!

Rating : 8,8/10

Track Listing :
01. Automatic Fix
02. Between the Truth and a Lie
03. Testify
04. Sanctuary
05. Pine Tree Avenue
06. Jelly Roll
07. Dirty Money
08. The Hollow Queen
09. The Ledge
10. Kingdom of Slaves
11. War

No comments:

Post a Comment