Tuesday, July 28, 2015

REVIEW : KILL RITUAL / Karma Machine (2015)

After two really solid releases, "The Serpentine Ritual" in 2012 and "The Eyes Of Medusa" in 2014", it's time now for KILL RITUAL to unleash its brand new "Karma Machine" record. The fact is that Kill Ritual with their two previous albums achieved to create a strong reputation around their name with their solid and modern heavy, thrashy, metal sound.

The new album is once again produced by guitarist Steven D. Rice and mixed/mastered by Andy LaRocque (King Diamond). "Karma Machine", also, marks the debut of new vocalist David Reed Watson.

The sound here is basically old-school heavy metal stuff, grafted with a strong 80's thrash vibe, melodies, aggressive guitars and powerful and rough vocals thanks to Mr.David Reed Watson. "Just A Cut", that kicks-off the album is an average tune but the things gettin' better with the second track, "Rise", that is also the first video out of the new record. With "The Key" we have the first killer moment; a slower track, in the beginning, that is evolving into a fast-paced and in-your-face heavy monster!!! "Karma Machine" has a strong groove in it while in "Land Of The Dead" the guys are delivering another head-banging anthem!

With a new singer and a new line-up, I didn't know what to expect from Kill Ritual's new effort. The fact is that I enjoyed the band's latest album a lot. This new one, it's different from the two previous recordings. It has some elements from the past but it includes a new recipe as well. The bottom line is that it includes a bunch of killer tracks but the majority of the tracks didn't impress me. Btw, the choice is up to you.

Rating: 7/10

Track listing :

1. Just A Cut
2. Rise
3. The Enemy Inside
4. The Key
5. Karma Machine
6. My Green Room
7. Kundalini
8. Land Of The Dead
9. Camera's Eye

No comments:

Post a Comment