Wednesday, April 30, 2014

DARKHORSE / Let It Ride (2014)

Allow me to start this review by saying that I'm really impressed by DarkHorse's debut album. It's like a love at first sight thing. Pure melodic rock/country/modern rock stuff in such a great way. The lead singer behind DarkHorse is no other than the ex-Danger Danger and very talented musician Paul Laine. It's really nice to have Mr. Laine back with us 'cause, in my humble opinion, he is one of the best 'shouters' out there and it's always a great pleasure to hear new music from him.

As I already mentioned above, the music of Darkhorse is a kinda-of country meets melodic rock or if you prefer a harder edged Country stuff. All of the songs here are well-written, well-performed and there is a Bon Jovi-esque feeling all over the album. But again, in my humble opinion, Darkhorse achieved to deliver a Bon Jovi-esque album in a better way than the legendary band (Bon Jovi) did, especially in the last couple of releases. Btw, let's focus in Darkhorse's debut and see a track by track review.

"You Were The One I Waited For" that kicks-off is a brilliant melodic rock monster. A feel good vibe, emotional and at the same time powerful vocal lines by Laine with an explosive chorus line to sing-a-long for days.
"Better Days" is another country/melodic rock tune with a huge Bon Jovi feeling especially in the chorus.
"I Wouldn't Have Missed It For The World" is an up-tempo rocker in the vain of Danger Danger stuff that grabbed me at once and made me push the repeat button several times with its energetic vibe and ultra-catchy chorus line.
"Goodbye" is the first ballad of the album and reminded me of "Don't Break My Heart" song. For sure, another highlight.
"In The Country", the first single of the album, is a great melodic rock track with a strong Country 'touch' in it.
"Heaven Tonight" grabs you with its feel-good vibe and leaves you hungry for more. It features a great chorus line, a sweet melody and some cool guitar licks.
"Strong" is the second ballad of "Let It Ride". This is a typical Paul Laine ballad that includes superb performances, a beautiful melody, great arrangements and again a big chorus line to die for.
"Nowhere Fast" is a harder edged, 'happy' rocker while in "What She Meant To Me" we are dealing with an emotional song with very good harmonic parts.
"Let It Ride" closes the album with a rocking and more groovier way.

Bottom line is that "Let It Ride" is an excellent album all the way! Ten beautiful tracks that all include great melodies, a feel-good vibe, amazing performances by a great singer, catchy hooks and choruses and a tight musicianship! Movin' from Country rock to melodic rock and to some AOR paths "Let It Ride" is an extremely enjoyable ride with a Darkhorse!!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10

Track Listing :
01 - You Were The One I Waited For
02 - Better Days
03 - I Wouldn't Have Missed It For The World
04 - Goodbye
05 - In The Country
06 - Heaven Tonight
07 - Strong
08 - Nowhere Fast
09 - What She Meant To Me
10 - Let It Ride

1 comment:

  1. I couldn't agree more! Every song is catchy, and deserves to be a hit. So glad Mr. Laine is back in the saddle again! ;)