Saturday, January 25, 2014

PAVIC / Is The War The Answer? (2014)

Pavic during the last decade released two very interesting albums, "Taste Some Liberty" and "Unconditioned" both with Chris Catena on vocals, and nowadays he is back with the brand new "Is The War The Answer?". The band consists of Marco Pavic on lead guitars, the tattooed Joe Calabro on vocals, Aleks Ferrara on bass guitars, Lorenzo Antonelli on keys and Antoni Aronne on drums.

The new album kicks-off with the modern hard edged rocker of "Is The War The Answer?". Raspy-bad attitude vocals, a powerful sound and an explosive chorus line! A really strong start! Next, "In Your Eyes" is movin' to the same US-modern hard rock paths while "Song For The Rain" is the first highlight here! A kinda of Daughtry meets Nickelback mid-tempo rocker that impress with it's beautiful melody and its solid performances!! Superb stuff! "Your Own Misery" is good, the Duran Duran's cover of "Notorious" is simply awesome and "Every Time I Die" is just ok!!  "Strong Enough" rocks good and mixes perfectly the 80's hard rock sound with some modern US-flavored hard rock elements. This song is one of my favorite here! Another highlight from the new record is without no doubt the punchy "Welcome To My World". A tasty rocker that includes an ass-kickin' up-tempo rhythm, a nice guitar work and a catchy chorus line!

All in all, this is a very good album that achieves to mix perfectly the classic hard rock of the 80's with the new and modern US-hard rock scene and finally to sound fresh and inspired; and the sure thing is that it will please every single fan of both scenes!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
01 - Is War the Answer?
02 - In Your Eyes
03 - Song for the Rain
04 - Your Own Misery
05 - Notorious
06 - Every Time I Die
07 - Strong Enough
08 - Welcome to My World
09 - Free Fall
10 - Once Again 

No comments:

Post a Comment