Saturday, June 1, 2013


Magnus Karlsson is a very charismatic/talented musician in today's hard rock, metal world. His works with Last Tribe were all solid, he was the mastermind behind the amazing project/band of Allen/Lande and he was, also, the partner in crime with Tony Harnell on Starbreaker. If I start to count his participation over the last decade, it will take the whole review.

Nowadays, this talented guy is releasing his debut album and believe me it's about a great record. For this effort, Karlsson achieved to gather some of his best friends of the international hard n' heavy scene for this killer release!!  Russell Allen, Tony Harnell, Mark Boals and David Readman are some of the impressive guests here. Except from the above mentioned list of guests, Magnus is doina very good job here considering of the lead vocals in a couple of tracks.

"Free Fall" is the opening track and it's a blast!! A sharp riff, great arrangements and Allen's powerful performances in front row! This track should be included in Allen/Lande's debut release. "Higher" is heavier and this time Ralf Scheepers handles the leads here. A good one. "Heading Out" is a more melodic cut and features Magnus on lead vocals. A superb melodic hard rock sample with a catchy hook and chorus line and Karlsson's very good performances. His friend from  Starbreaker Tony Harnell appears in the next one, "Stronger". A beautiful mid-tempo song that features an awesome guitar solo and an incredible melody. "Not My Saviour" (Rick Altzi)  is very good with a modern twist while "Us Against The World" (David Readman) is a huge melodic rocker with a monstrous chorus line. "Our Time Has Come" (Mark Boals), "Fighting" (Herman Saming) and "On Fire" are all very good tracks with superb performances and stunning guitar lines.

I have to admit that Magnus Karlsson, with a little help of his friends, made it again to release a strong album full of great arrangements, excellent guitar work, a solid production and some impressive tracks. Well done!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List :
01. Free Fall (lead vocals: Russell Allen)
02. Higher (lead vocals: Ralf Scheepers)
03. Heading Out (lead vocals: Magnus Karlsson)
04. Stronger (lead vocals: Tony Harnell)
05. Not My Saviour (lead vocals: Rick Altzi)
06. Us Against The World (lead vocals: David Readman)
07. Our Time Has Come (lead vocals: Mark Boals)
08. Ready Or Not (lead vocals: Magnus Karlsson)
09. Last Tribe (lead vocals: Rickard Bengtsson)
10. Fighting (lead vocals: Herman Saming)
11. Dreamers & Hunters (lead vocals: Mike Andersson)
12. On Fire (lead vocals: Magnus Karlsson)
13. Stronger (Acoustic) [Japanese bonus track]

Magnus Karlsson - Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Daniel Flores - Drums
Guest Vocals:
Russell Allen (Symphony X, Adrenaline Mob)
Ralf Scheepers (Primal Fear, Gamma Ray)
Tony Harnell (TNT, Starbreaker)
Mark Boals (Yngwie Malmsteen, The Codex)
Rick Altzi (Masterplan, At Vance)
Mike Andersson (Star One, Full Force)
Rickard Bengtsson (Last Tribe)
Herman Saming (A.C.T.)
David Readman (Pink Cream 69, Voodoo Circle)

No comments:

Post a Comment