Friday, November 30, 2012


The story of Mystery Blue begins many years back when guitarist FRENZY PHILIPPON achieved to make Mystery Blue one of the most respectful names in the hard rock/metal scene. The band released two successful albums, the eponymous debut long-player "MYSTERY BLUE" (AXE KILLER RECORDS), followed by "CIRCLE OF SHAME" (DREAM RECORDS/CBS), and toured Europe with big guns such as MOTÖRHEAD, DEF LEPPARD, SAXON, VENGEANCE, and fellow “Frenchies” H-BOMB and SATAN JOKERS. But after the rocket propelled rose, the young band succumbed to internal strife and disintegrated.

In 1996, Frenzy reforms the band with the addition of the vocalist NATHALIE GEYER and the band releases their third album, "SPIRIT OF YOUR SONG". The band continued touring and releasing albums and participating in many big festivals. So, nowadays, the band is back and stronger than ever with the brand new one which is titled "CONQUER THE WORLD". The question now is if Mystery Blue is ready to conquer the world!

The album starts with the old-fashioned heavy tune of "Conquer The World". This is a good one but the only problem is the lack of attitude. Nice guitar riffs, good performances, a double kick drumming...but no attitude!! "Innocent Crime" and "Running With The Pack" are both solid tunes while "Evil Spell" is an average one. I found the vocal performances really annoying here and sometimes out of tune!!! "Keep On Dreaming" is the highlight here!! An atmospheric and darker track with some killer guitar work and finally some outstanding vocal lines!! "Behind Those Walls" is another interesting moment.

Bottom line is that in my humble opinion Mystery Blue didn't achieve to conquer the world with this album. There are some interesting moments here and there are also many fillers that spoils the final result. But this is only my opinion as I already said. Listen and make your own decision.....
HeavyParadise's Rating : 6/10

Track List :

01. Conquer The World
02. Innocent Crime
03. Running With The Pack
04. Evil Spell
05. Cruel Obession
06. Ticket To Hell
07. Keep On Dreaming
08. Road Of Despair
09. Behind Those Walls
10. Guardian Angel
11. Accroche-Toi À Tes Reves (bonus track)

No comments:

Post a Comment