Sunday, January 15, 2023

REVIEW : KHYMERA, Hold Your Ground (Frontiers Music s.r.l. Release: 10 February 2023)

I have to admit that among the forthcoming 2023 releases, KHYMERA's newest effort is among these that I was looking forward to listening to it! You see, I'm a big fan of all KHYMERA's albums and that's why I was very anxious to listen to the band's new record. 

Their music is simple, up-tempo, very melodic and the choruses are cool enough to make you sing-a-long from the very first listen. And while Khymera started out as a music alliance between Italian producer/musician Daniele Liverani and then Kansas singer Steve Walsh, they developed their style and turned into a melodic hard rock/AOR beast!! That was the time that well-known producer/bass player Dennis Ward (Pink Cream 69) came on board and gave the extra boost to the band's sound! 

The new opus is entitled "Hold Your Ground" and it's going to be released through Frontiers Music this February (10th). 

Apart of Dennis Ward on lead vocals, bass and keys we find, also, Michael Klein on guitars, Eric Ragno on keyboards, Michael Kolar on drums and Pete Newdeck on backing vocals. 

The new record is full of amazing melodies, full of great tracks, full of killer hooks an' choruses and at the end of the day leaves a sweet taste in your ear!! The more hard rockin' direction that the band took with the "The Grand Design" eight years ago helped KHYMERA to go to a higher level, musicaly speaking. Highlights out of "Hold Your Ground"? I would dare to say that all the tracks here, except 1 or 2, are killers, in my humble opinion. "Don't Wait For Love", "Firestarter", "Hear What I'm Saying", "Believe In What You Want", "On The Edge" and "Runaway" are all some really excellent tunes that will make your day!!! 

A brand new KHYMERA album is always a great ear pleasure, that's for sure. "Hold Your Ground" is a damn fine record that includes some killer tunes in it and is easily recommended for every melodic hard rock/edgy AOR fan out there!! 

Songwritting : 9
Production : 9
Songs : 9
Musicianship : 9

Overall Rating : 9 / 10 

No comments:

Post a Comment