Monday, May 9, 2016

REVIEW : FEATHERSTONE – Northern Rumble (2016)

Damn....this is another fine release that came out of nowhere!! Featherstone is a new melodic rock band that consists of songwriter/multi-instrumentalist/producer Rikard Quist (Gypsy Rose, Don Patrol, Last Autumn´s Dream, White Wolf and Bangalore Choir), singer Lars Boden (Appearance), and drummer Niklas Osterlund (Headplate) and Jon Wilde.

This debut record is a melodic rock oasis that features ten solid and well-crafted tracks with beautiful melodies, nice and crunchy guitars, powerful vocals and catchy hooks and choruses. All these with a fresh and updated approach and there you have an album that will gain many fans of the modern melodic rock sound.

Songs like the up-tempo and 'punchy' opener "I Need Myself The Most", the heavier "Look Into My Eyes" or the 'tasty' AOR-ish "Hold On To Love" simply shows the multi talent and the abilities of the above mentioned musicians to create a strong record with great tracks in it! Of course, there are not only the three above tracks here that rocked my world; each song in "Northern Rumble" is pure modern melodic rock bliss at its best and there's no filler in sight.

So, the bottom line is that Featherstone with their debut album, "Northern Rumble", achieve to release a solid debut that aims through the heart of every true melodic rock fan out there!

Rating : 8,5/10

Track Listing :
1. I Need Myself The Most, 2. Freedom Call, 3. Leave Me Be, 4. Look Into My Eyes, 5. Hole In My Heart, 6. Silhouettes On The Shade, 7. Hold On To Love, 8. Scandinavian Rose, 9. Fear Me, Save Me, 10. Part Of Me

No comments:

Post a Comment