Thursday, February 4, 2016

REVIEW : Resurrection Kings / Resurrection Kings (2016)

One of the most anticipated 2016 albums is without any doubt Resurrection Kings self-tilted record. Shred king Graig Goldy (DIO) has put together a bunch of some well-known musicians such as Chris West (vocals), Sean McNabb (Lynch Mob, Dokken, Quiet Riot) on bass and legendary Vinny Appice (Dio, Black Sabbath) on drums and created a great and classic hard rock album.

This is certainly a must have hard rock album that is made with passion and stays true to the roots of the classic melodic hard rock/metal sound of the late 80's, early 90's. Goldy's guitar lines are simply breathtaking, inspired with tons of shredding that will please each and every guitar freak out there. West's vocals are another strong point in this record. Of course, the rhythm section is tight as a rock making the final result extremely enjoyable from start to finish. I, also, have to add here that the production is been handled by the mighty Alessandro Del Vecchio that achieved to give a bigger sound to the whole project.

"Distant Prayer", the opener, is pure 80's hard rock delight; a straight forward in-your-face rocker that will blow your mind with its fantastic riff, West's superb performances and its catchy chorus line.  "Wash Away" is just killer!!! A true Whitesnake-ish influenced track that the legendary Snakes would wish to own!! "Who Do You Run To" is a bit 'darker' but with a huge melody in it and Goldy's amazing guitar lines while in "Never Say Goodbye" we are dealing with a monstrous ballad that back then could have been a major hit in MTV!!! "Had Enough" is yet another highlight out of this debut.

All in all, this a hell of a record! Crank the volume on maximum and enjoy this classic hard rock masterpiece!!

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
 01 - Distant Prayer
02 - Livin' Out Loud
03 - Wash Away
04 - Who Did You Run To
05 - Fallin' For You 
06 - Never Say Goodbye
07 - Path Of Love
08 - Had Enough
09 - Don't Have To Fight No More
10 - Silent Wonder
11 - What You Take 

No comments:

Post a Comment