Saturday, December 12, 2015

REVIEW : Wigelius – Tabula Rasa (2016)

Wigelius was formed in late 2011 by Anders Wigelius. A record deal with Frontiers Records brought the amazing debut "Reinventions" in 2012 that immediately gained the attention of the Melodic Rock press and fans. Nowadays, the band is back with the brand new "Tabula Rasa" (Tabula Rasa is latin for "Blank slate") and this time the band is ready for bigger things!

Anders, Erik Wigelius, Jakob Svensson and with the new member on board, Patrik Janson on bass Wigelius with "Tabula Rasa" outcome themselves and present us a great record full of chocking melodies, solid performances and superb guitar lines thanx to Svensson's inspirations.

The new album kicks-off with the simply stunning tune of "Do It All Again". This is an up-tempo, positive AOR monster that grabs you at once and makes you sing-a-long!! "Deja Vu" is yet another killer melodic rock track with a catchy chorus line while in "These Tears I Cry" we are dealing with an amazing mid-tempo song that sounds like it came out in the late 80's. "Set Me Free" has a nice modern 'twist' in it and "Time Well Wasted" is pure candy in my ears! Punchier with a chorus line to die for, this track is pure heaven!! The more pop-ish "Love Is The key" is another interesting moment here.  

Amazing, brilliant and extremely melodic rock album!!! "Tabula Rasa" is the record that is a must have for each and every single fan of the melodic rock scene in general!! Please do a favor to yourself and check out this melodic gem. 

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
01. Do It All Again, 02. Deja Vu, 03. These Tears I Cry, 04. Long Way from Home, 05. Set Me Free, 06. Yesterdays News, 07. Time Well Wasted, 08. 9 Out of 10, 09. Run With Me, 10. Love is the Key, 11. Please Please Please, 12. Ma Chérie


  1. Been looking forward to their next release first one was gear. Now Wirth this review can't wait

  2. What a great album, well deserved 10/10 and one which I´ll get on CD and not only as download :)