Thursday, November 19, 2015

REVIEW : BLOOD RED SAINTS / Speedway (2015)

Blood Red Saints is a new amazing melodic hard rock/AOR band that was formed at the end of 2014 by singer Pete Godfrey and bassist Rob Naylor. Godfrey, who made his recording debut on the brilliant 'In Faith' album in October 2014, and Rob Naylor, from the band Angels or Kings, decided to put this new band together and with the addition of another former In Faith member, Pete Newdeck (Eden’s Curse and currently the vocalist for Tainted Nation) on drums and Lee Revill on guitar (Gary Hughes) B.R.S. took flesh and blood.

The search for a name ended with the chance discovery of a semi-legendary Speedway team “The Blood Red Saints”. BRS were formed in the late 1920s in Brooklyn, New York. Their Leader and Icon 'Freddie Rendetti' became synonymous with the team, Freddie was a fiery colorful character who ultimately lived the fast life a little too fast.

Blood Red Saints for this debut recruited James and Tom Martin of VEGA (who co-wrote two songs of the new album) and Harry Hess of Harem Scarem on the mastering and finally they present to us this really impressive debut. The sound here reminds a bit of In Faith's debut filled with a strong dose of FM's earlier works and includes powerful performances (thanks to Godfrey's soul-full voice), catchy choruses, a tight musicianship and some 'tasty' guitar lines.

The song that grabbed me at once is "Best Of Me". This is just a killer melodic rock anthem that features a monstrous melody, a chorus line that makes you wanna sing-a-long and an incredible guitar work!!! "Dangerous" is yet another highlight out of this debut. The chorus brings back memories from Def Leppard's "Hysteria" era and Godfrey's powerful vocals are out of this world! The rockier "Better Days" sounds like it came out of In Faith's debut while in "Wrapped In These Arms" we are dealing with a huge commercial song in the vain of FM's earlier works.  

Blood Red Saints' debut is just pure candy in my ears! One of the best old-fashioned melodic hard rock records that I've heard this year. Well-crafted and well-played songs with heart and soul, a fantastic singer, memorable hooks and choruses, huge melodies and a positive vibe all over the album! Buy or die!!!

Rating : 10/10

Track Listing :
01. Kickin’ up Dust
02. Mercy
03. Best of Me
04. Dangerous
05. Love Set Me Up Again
06. Better Days
07. The Best Thing
08. Unbreakable
09. Wrapped Up in These Arms
10. Cgrnr
11. Feels a Lot Like Love
12. Faith 

No comments:

Post a Comment