Tuesday, June 16, 2015

REVIEW : CHAOS MAGIC (featuring Caterina Nix and Timo Tolkki) / Chaos Magic (2015)

Caterina Nix (born Caterina Torrealba in Santiago, Chile) is a new singer who was signed by Frontiers to head a new solo project called CHAOS MAGIC in collaboration with the well-known guitarist, songwriter and producer Timo Tolkki (former Stratovarius composer and guitarist), who wrote and produced the album for her.

Nix started her career with the band Aghonya. With her band, she  released an album, "Oxygen" in 2008, and received some very good reviews and achieved to open the shows for big names such as Edguy and Within Temptation. Later on, she appeared on Timo Tolkki's Avalon’s second album, entitled "Angels of the Apocalypse". She shares lead vocals on songs with such heavyweight singers such as Simone Simons (Epica), Elize Ryd (Amaranthe) and Floor Jansen (Nightwish) on two songs: "High Above Of Me" and "Angels of the Apocalypse".

Chaos Magic's music moves to the well-known paths of Within Temptation' latest albums. The music itself it is dark, melodic, epic with great arrangements, beautiful performances and great guitar work. Her voice has a lyricism that fits perfectly in this kinda of music. All the songs here are well-written and the whole project is extremely interesting from start to finish.

Just listen to the great "Dangerous Game", the 'haunting' "From The Stars", the up-tempo gem of "A Little Too Late" or the heavier "One Drop Of Blood" with its fantastic guitar work and you'll discover a solid album all the way! The 'magic' hand of Timo Tolkki has done a superb job, once again, regarding the production as well as the songwriting.  For all the fans of female-fronted Epic Hard Rock/Metal sound this effort is for you.
Rating : 8/10

Track Listing :
01. I'm Alive
02. Dangerous Game
03. One Drop Of Blood
04. Seraphim
05. From The Stars
06. A Little Too Late
07. Passionflow
08. Dead Memories
09. Please Don't Tell Me
10. Right Now
11. The Point Of No Return

No comments:

Post a Comment