Thursday, May 29, 2014

SLEAZY ROXxX / Dangerous Obsession (2014)

They say 'don't judge a book by it's cover'. And I say, 'yeah right', when you have a front cover such as Sleaze Roxxx's, then the first thing that comes to your mind is that this band is playin' sleaze metal in an old-fashioned way and in the vain of Motley Crue, Pretty Boy Floyd and Poison. The band has, also, released an EP, "Spread To Pink", in 2012 and consists of Lee Glambert on vocals, Steve St. James on guitar, Jan Vandervell on bass and George O’Lingerie on drums.

After a short and 'dark' intro comes the real thing; "Porn To Be Wild" is entitled the opening track and it includes everything that we love from this music. Cool riffs, attitude, nasty vocals, a big and loud chorus line and more attitude! "Draw The line" features a more straight forward line and movin' into some more melodic rock paths while in "Long Way To Mexico" the sleaze heavy rock scene of the 80's is alive 'n' kickin'!!!!! The power ballad of "Live Fast-Die Young" is among the highlights here and with "Bastard" Sleazy Roxxx put some modern sleaze elements and the result is real good.

All in all, this is a strong release that grabbed me at once and left me with a sweet taste in my ears. Sleaze Roxxx mixes the old with the new and at the end achieves to create a real solid sleaze heavy rock album with an updated and fresh sound that will be welcomed by any fan of this scene.
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track Listing :
1.Innocent Memories
2.Porn To Be Wild
3.Draw The Lion
4.Lima Sierra Delta
5.Long Way to Mexico
6.Sex Drugs & Ice Cream
7.Live Fast – Die Young
9.Girl from 80s
10.Kentucky Highway
11.White Gold
12.Under Magenta Sky (2012, Bonus)

No comments:

Post a Comment