Wednesday, January 23, 2013


The Finnish melodic power metallers closed almost five years without their natural mastermind, Timo Tolkki, and in this time they have released three full length efforts plus a double live album. Their experiment of "Polaris" showed that there is still life after Tolkki, while their first attempt with Matias Kupiainen left the best impression among their fans. The "Elysium" gave new life and a fresh new air to the band, like many promises continuity, while "Under Flaming Winter Skies" was overall a solid record.

In this new album, we will find the band with a new member since Jorg Michael has left Stratovarius and youngster Rolf Pilve took his place behind the drums.

"Nemesis" starts unexpectedly  but very pleasantly with "Abandon", which succeeds the "Unbreakable", which is (rightfully) the first single of the album. "Stand My Ground" is not something breathtakin' unlike the "Halcyon Days", that features some electronic forms that give an extra flavor to the whole track! "Fantasy" is a classic "happy" Stratovarius tune while the next one "Out of the Fog" is a solid one. The "Castles In the Air" is governed by a more "epic" feeling, with some big choir arrangements. "One Must Fall" is a nice track and "If the Story Is Over" will certainly be a future classic!! The album closes with the self - title tune of "Nemesis" which is a really good song.

So, what we have here is an overall very good release by these Finnish melodic power metallers!! The final result will please every single fan of this band and although there are a couple, or more, fillers for certainly we are talkin' about a very mature work. The band is tryin' hard to create its own identity, without the 'ghosts' of Tolkki-era, and you can't count on this that they are in the right way! Well done!
HeavyParadise's Rating : 7,5/10

Track List :
 1. Abandon
2. Unbreakable
3. Stand My Ground
4. Halcyon Days
5. Fantasy
6. Out Of The Fog
7. Castles In The Air
8. Dragons
9. One Must Fall
10. If The Story Is Over
11. Nemesis

1 comment:

  1. The "mastermind", as you described/named him, is completely lost. His project SYMFONIA is dead shortly after its birth, that's ashame... The problem is that he still thinks he is a STRATOVARIUS's member, even if it's not the case today...

    Well, about "Nemesis", I've listened some bad previews on the net. I think it's mainly due to mp3 quality updloaded on the web. All instrumental/vocals lines weren't clearly listenable... This was a bad rough.
    I assume the full-length release will be promising. This band's rebirth is incredible! I still enjoy their GREAT effort "Polaris", less "Elysium" which was an "easy-listening" one in my opinion.