Tuesday, December 18, 2012


The journey of this Croatian Symphonic Metal act began years ago, in 2005, and after a few years of activity the band was formed into a productive union which eventually resulted in finishing their first album Forbidden Memories, in autumn 2011.

And even though the band went through some several line-up changes, they still managed to be publicly active, not sparing efforts to play a number of concerts in their homeland as well as abroad. The mastermind behind DOWNCAST ART is the keyboard player Zdravko Smenderovac.

Their music is well-written, well-performed and the band shows its incredible talent in each and every single moment of "Forbidden Memories". The extraordinary and sometimes majestic vocal performances along with the variety of their music offer to the listener a great journey into the DOWNCAST ART's music. And even though I'm not a big fan of this particular scene, I have to admit that I enjoyed every single minute of it!! "Face Without A Name" is the true highlight here!!! Musically is a heavy in-your-face rocker that features some outstanding guitar parts, amazing vocal performances by Jelena, great arrangements and a tight musicianship!! Other highlights are the ballad-operetic "Home Of Silence" with its emotional melody, the simple fantastic and my personal favorite tune of "Miris Proslosti" (in their native language) and "Down light" .

All in all, this is an extremely interesting release by those Croatians! Power, emotions, great arrangements, amazing musicianship and some breathtaking performances; all the above elements are perfectly balanced in a highly recommended album! For the fans of symphonic metal scene, this is a must have, for the others please do a favor to yourselves and check it out!! I'm sure that in the near future will hear bigger things from them.....
HeavyParadise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :

  1. Everlasting
  2. Bloodred Ink
  3. Miris Proslosti
  4. Home of Silence
  5. Forbidden Memories
  6. Face Without a Name
  7. Whisper of a Dying Rose
  8. Innocence Never Dies With Desire
  9. Chants From the Deep
  10. Downlight
  11. Home of Silence (Piano version)


No comments:

Post a Comment