Sunday, June 30, 2013


Soul Of Steel is a band that hails from Italy and "Journey To Infinity" is the band's second release after the solid debut, "Destiny", in 2010. The new effort was produced by Olaf Thorsen of Vision Divine and Labyrinth and mixed/mastered by the 'mighty' Simone Mularoni (DGM).

In "Journey To Infinity" are, also, featuring some guest appearances by Roberto Tiranti (lead shouter of Labyrinth) and Alessio Lucatti (keyobards). The album evolves around a dreamlike journey of a man trying to escape his demons!

After a short but intense intro, the album kicks off with the opening tune of "Through The Gates Of Heaven". Nice keyboards, a heavy intro riff, very good vocal performances and the 'ghost' of Vision Divine wander around!  "Shadows Of The Past" is up-tempo and has a really nice melody while "Neverland" is totally huge!! It marries the old with the new with a blasting melody, great arrangements and some 'modern' power elements as well! The guitar solo is also brilliant!!! "Waiting For You", "Journey To Infinity" and "Secret Words" are all three solid samples of a very good band that has plenty of talent and that's a thing that reflects to their music. The album closes with the superb tune of "Last Desire" that features Roberto Tiranti of Labyrinth on lead vocals.

As I said above, this band has plenty of talent and they achieve to create a strong record with some impressive tunes in it. Some very good melodies, a tight musicianship, inspired riffs and solos and good vocal performances make this release a must check it out for every fan of modern melodic power metal sound. 
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 7,5/10

Track List :
1. Aeternum Tormentum
2. Through the Gates of Heaven
3. Shadows of the Past
4. Neverland
5. Waiting for You
6. The Fallen Angel
7. Journey to Infinity
8. Like a Memory
9. Secret Words
10. Portrait of my Last Dream
11. Last Desire
12. Eternal Life
13. Last Desire (acoustic)

No comments:

Post a Comment