Friday, November 30, 2012


Reverence is a new Power Metal band that was formed in 2010 by guitarist/songwriter Bryan Holland and vocalist Todd Michael Hall. These two musicians wanted to create a true heavy metal band and Reverence was born!

Holland is well-known for his participation with NWOBHM legends Tokyo Blade and Arrest while Hall gained notoriety with his 4 octave range and as a vocalist for Jack Starr's Burning Starr. The rest of the band consists of Steve 'Doc Killdrums' Wacholz (Savatage) on drums, Ned Meloni on on bass and Pete Rossi on guitars.

Their music is classic influenced by heavy power metal in emphasis to some big in-your-face riffs and solos! Every single track here rocks big time and brings up memories from the 80's, early 90's scene and bands such as Savatage, Metal Church and Judas Priest as well. The fact is that this year I reviewed many 'true' and traditional heavy metal albums but this one is exactly a classic power heavy metal release with attitude and some impressive tunes that will make every single fan of this gerne happy!! Highlights here are the killer tune of "Revolution Rising" with the amazing riff and the ala Queensryche harmonies, the heavy in-your-face "Devil In Disguise", the stunning 80's power ballad "After The Leaves Has Fallen" which features some incredible powerful and emotional vocal lines and, again, a superb guitar work!!

All in all, this is an excellent metal album all the way! Emotions, great arrangements, powerful performances, a tight musicianship, killer tracks and superb guitar work all these plus an 80's feeling and there you have one of the best metal records of this year!!
HeavyParadise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List :
1. When Darkness Calls
2. Bleed For Me
3. Phantom Road
4. Devil In Disguise
5. Too Late
6. Gatekeeper
7. The Price You Pay
8. Monster
9. Revolution Rising
10. After The Leaves Have Fallen
11. Vengeance Is Mine

No comments:

Post a Comment