Sunday, September 13, 2015

REVIEW : 21 Octayne / 2.0 (2015)

"....21 Octayne's "Into The Open" is a brilliant record! Yes, this album hit me like a thunder and left me hungry for more. It's heavy and at the same time extremely melodic, it's complex, beautiful, it contains tons of melodies and catchy choruses to sing-a-long for days and, at the end, it leaves you with a so sweet taste that makes you wanna hear it again and again....." this was my impression of 21 Octayne's debut album. I gave a big 10 out of 10 for that record and, to be honest, I was looking forward to the band's next step.

So, the highly anticipated new record of 21 Octayne is finally here. The band that fronted by powerhouse vocalist Hagen Grohe (The Joe Perry Project), guitarist Marco Wriedt (ex-Axxis) and drummer Alex Landenburg (Rhapsody) unleashed album number two and they are ready for one more time to impress us with their fresh and solid music.

The new effort includes all the things that were featured in the debut plus a more straight forward sound that makes the final result extremely enjoyable from start to finish. Heavy riffs and solos, beautiful melodies, catchy and 'clever' hooks and choruses, some progressive pinches, powerful vocals and a tight musicianship are some of the ingredients of "2.0".

The new album kicks-off with the fast-paced melodic heavy rock anthem of "Devil In Disguised"; a song that grabs you immediately with it's furious rhythm, the heavy guitars and Grohe's powerful and in-your-face performances!! Excellent stuff! "When You Go" is a killer track! A more commercial vibe filled with a superb melody a catchy hook and there you have a true highlight!! In "Love's Just A Heartbreak Away", we are dealing with yet another monstrous tune; this one has an 80's vibe in it and when it comes to the chorus then comes the real thing!!! "Lost" is a bit modern (but I like it!!!) and it can be a major hit while in "Fly With Me", the heaviest song here, the band take things to a next level as well as enrich their sound with some progressive elements and make the final result excellent!

21 Octayne is back with yet another killer record! "2.0" kicks some serious asses, period!! If you liked the band's debut then, the sure thing is that you love this one the same. Brilliant record and a strong contender for this year's Top list!

Rating : 9,5/10

Track Listing :
01. Devil In Disguise
02. Take Me Back
03. When You Go
04. Love’s Just A Heartbreak Away
05. Take Me Away
06. Lost
07. The Circle
08. Date With Myself
09. Fly With Me
10. Tale Of A Broken Child


No comments:

Post a Comment