Thursday, February 27, 2014

EXORCISM / I Am God (2014)

There was a lot of noise about this new exciting band over the last months and, to be honest, I was looking forward to hearing the debut album of Exorcism. Exorcism is the band that was formed out of the Raven Lord ashes and consists of Csaba Zvekan (Raven Lord and ex- killing machine) on lead vocals, the amazing shredder Joe Stump (Raven Lord, Holly Hell) on guitars, Lucio Manca (Raven Lord) on bass and Garry King (Achillea, Joe Lynn Turner) on drums.

The band's sound is basically old-school doom heavy metal that includes some really powerful vocal performances, Zvekan's voice is on top form, heavy as hell riffs and a tight rhythm section that takes this project to a higher level!

The opening 'dark' and incredibly heavy-groove tune of "End Of Days" is the perfect appetizer of what's coming-up next. Joe Stump unleashes his heavy 'thunders' and Csaba Zvekan is doin' an excellent job regarding the vocal performances! 'I am God, I am the master, I am your God, Raised from Hell' .....Csaba sings with emphasis and now we are dealing with another 'dark' heavy gem. In "Last Rock N Roll", we have a DIO-influenced heavy rocker while "Exorcism" is yet another strong moment from this debut. This last one reminds me of Jorn's latest works a bit. "Stay In Hell" is my absolute favorite track from "I Am God". It features a nice melody, a more updated and 'modern' sound in it, a catchy chorus line and some really great arrangements!!! Great track!

Bottom line is that Exorcism with their debut album are going to make some noise in the metal community, no doubt 'bout that! They are the true defenders of the old school Heavy Metal scene and that's a thing that reflects to their sound. The musicianship here is tight, the vocal performances are powerful and evil and the guitar work.....heavy as hell!!! Highly recommended stuff for all you metal-freaks out there!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track listing :
01. End Of Days
02. I Am God
03. Voodoo Jesus
04. Last Rock'N Roll
05. Master Of Evil
06. Exorcism
07. Higher
08. Stay In Hell
09. Fade The Day
10. Zero G

1 comment: