Saturday, October 8, 2016

REVIEW : Shining Line / Shining Line (Re-release) (2016)

It's been almost six years since the release of the Shining Line album and it's already considered a classic album in the Melodic Rock/AOR scene. The idea was to create an all-star project with the participation of some of the most well-known musicians and the result was, and still is, pretty amazing. The mastermind behind Shining Line was the drummer and songwriter Pierpaolo Monti and Amos Monti. Both achieved to gather this superb guest list of musicians and put down the right ideas, heart and soul and, of course, THE songs to become Shining Line a classic.

So, what we have here is this superb piece of pure melodic rock stuff that comes with bonus tracks and a new art work. Just for the record let's see again some guests that participate in "Shining Line". Erik Martensson, Harry Hess, Michael Bormann, Michael Voss, Carsten 'Lizard' Schulz and Robbie Lablanc are giving the extra push and with their amazing abilities rockets this record to heaven.

Highlights here? It's a difficult question to answer 'cause each song has something different and special to give to the listener. But, if I had to pick some that would be the stunning opener "Highway To Love" (Erik Martensson), "Amy" (Harry Hess), "Heat Of The Light" (R. Beck) and the AOR gem of "Still In Your Heart" (Bob Harris & Sue Willetts).

As for the bonus material, we have two instrumental tracks, a fantastic song that features Michael Bormann (ex-Jaded Heart, solo) and the great up-tempo rocker tune of "This Is Our Life".

There is really nothin' more to add here except that if you don't own this classic record, you'll miss one of the best records of the last decade. A true gem of pure melodic rock bliss!!!

Rating : 9,5/10

Track Listing:
01. Highway Of Love (feat. Erik Martensson)
02. Amy (feat. Harry Hess)
03. Strong Enough (feat. Robbie LaBlanc)
04. Heaven's Path (Instrumental)
05. Heat Of The Light (feat. Robin Beck)
06. Can't Stop The Rock (feat. Mikael Erlandsson)
07. The Meaning Of My Lonely Words (feat. Michael Shotton)
08. The Infinity In Us (feat. Michael Voss)
09. Still In Your Heart (feat. Bob Harris & Sue Willetts)
10. Homeless' Lullaby (feat. Carsten "Lizard" Schulz & Ulrich Carlsson)
11. Follow the Stars (feat. Phil Vincent)
12. Unbreakable Wire (feat. Jack Meille, Bruno Kraler, Graziano De Murtas & Alessandro Del Vecchio)

13. This Is Our Life (feat. The Italian Rock Gang - EXCLUSIVE BONUS TRACK)
14. Under Silent Walls Part I - Blossom: From Night to Dawn (Instrumental)
15. Under Silent Walls Part II - Alone (feat. Michael Bormann)
16. Under Silent Walls Part III - Overture: Death of Cupid (Instrumental)

Produced by Alessandro Del Vecchio (Revolution Saints, Hardline, Edge Of Forever) and mixed/mastered by Michael Voss (Casanova, Mad Max, Voices Of Rock)

No comments:

Post a Comment