Monday, November 4, 2013


FATE is back and "If Not For The Devil" is entitled the band's brand new work through Avenue Of Allies Records. A couple of years back, Fate made a strong comeback with the "Ghosts From The Past" release. Nowadays and with the same line-up, this legendary band is ready to make some noise with this new one.

This album has it all; great melodic hard rock songs with catchy and anthemic choruses to sing-a-long for days, solid rockers with a metallic edge, 'darker' tunes and most of all well-crafted songs and strong performances.

"Reaping" comes like a thunder to shake things a bit and rock our world with its thunderous heavy riff, a smashing drumming and its powerful performances! A great appetizer of what's coming-up next!!!! "If Not For The Devil" it's pure FATE and that means a huge chorus line, a steady rhythm section, great guitar work and passionate vocal lines! Great track! "Bridges Are Burning" is an up-tempo in-your-face rocker that takes no prisoners with its heavenly influenced melody and the essential chorus. The same goes with the feel-good "Feel Like Making Love" while in "Gambler" we heave a typical keyboard-driven Scandi rocker!! Next it's time for the first ballad; "Hard To Say Goodbye" is a sweet and emotional power ballad that could easily be a major MTV hit back in the late 80's. "Made Of Stone" is a good with a modern twist rocker and "Man Against A Wall" is just brilliant!! Extremely catchy with an updated sound, this track is one of the best I have heard for years!! "My World" reminds me a bit of TREAT's latest effort, "Turn Back Time" is pure modern melodic delight, "Taught To Kill" is the heaviest cut here and "Gimme All Your Love" is another up-tempo melodic gem!!

All in all, this is a brilliant piece of melodic hard rock stuff! This album has it all; brilliant and catchy choruses to die for, sensational guitar work, strong performances, a tight as hell musicianship and well-crafted songs. What else an ordinary hard rock fan could ask for? Great stuff!!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 9/10

Track List :
01. Reaping
02. If Not for the Devil
03. Bridges Are Burning
04. Feel Like Making Love
05. Gambler
06. Hard to Say Goodbye
07. Made of Stone
08. Man Against the Wall
09. My World
10. Turn Back Time
11. Taught to Kill
12. Gimme All Your Love 

1 comment: