Friday, June 28, 2013


One of the greatest and most powerful female voices in the rock world is back! Yes, Robin Beck who shook the charts back in 1988 with one of the most successful songs ever, "First Time", is back again with her brand new release which is titled "Underneath".

So, in addition to Robin's, her boyz Denander and her husband's James Christian writing team, she now has a new winning team such as Fiona, Glen Burtnik and Barry Jay. The new opus includes tracks co-written from Germany's Crush Boys, Swedish Eurovision 2013 Winners Linnea Deb and Joy Deb, Mark Smith and more. The production is once again handled by the mighty James Christian and in the new album you can,also, hear Beck's and Christian's daughter Liv who is doin' backing vocals. And as Beck says "'s a family affair....we just happen to be a family whose foundation is solid rock!!!"

Beck's first three albums will always have a special place in my heart and, of course, in my cd collection. Pure melodic rock bliss with some pop-ish pinches but most of all the artist's unique voice. After that, she released four very good albums but she never achieved to 'touch' the magic of those first three. The song that opens this new effort is "Wrecking Ball". It has a bad-attitude riffing, a modern rock vibe and a killer chorus line to sing-a-long for days! "Ain't That Just Like Love" is an old-fashioned rocker that wakes up memories from Beck's earlier works. "Sprain" is another modern rocker, a little bit 'darker' but overall a good one while in "Underneath" it's one of those kinda of tunes that represents Robin Beck. A sweet ballad with emotional vocal performances and great arrangements. One of the album's highlights! "Catfight" and "Check Your Attitude" are both good modern rockers with a 'punchier' sound that in my ears are sounding like Pink and Kate Perry!!!!!! "Burnin' Me Down" is a huge power ballad that features also James Christian on lead vocals! "Perfect Storm" has a nice groove and "Ya Can't Fight Love" is the album's 'hit'!!!! It has a more commercial sound and a catchy chorus line! "I Swear The Nights" is another great ballad and, finally, the track that closes the album, "Follow You", is up-tempo and ready to rock!!!

Bottom line is that this is a pure Robin Beck album from start to finish!! The rockier tunes along with the ballads are in perfect harmony and her voice still gives me chills!! "Underneath" is soundin' fresh and dynamic with an updated modern sound in it that makes the final result a very enjoyable ride through Beck's world!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List :
01. Wrecking Ball
02. Aint That Just Like Love
03. Sprain
04. Underneath
05. Catfight
06. Check Your Attitude
07. Burnin Me Down
08. Perfect Storm
09. Ya Can’t Figth Love
10. I Swear The Nights
11. Follow You

No comments:

Post a Comment