Saturday, June 8, 2013


MASTERPLAN was founded by Helloween guitarist Roland Grapow in 2002. The first two albums with Jorn Lande made a big impression to the melodic metal scene and were considered as classics in this particular scene. Jorn and Masterplan took separate ways and in 2007 the band was released MK II with Mike Dimeo on lead vocals.

That was another solid album and received great feedback by the metal press. After this effort, Jorn was back on board and it was tied for a new record in 2010 with the title "Time To Be King". That was, imho, a good album but far away from the band's previous recordings. So, nowadays, the band is back with a brand new opus and a new vocalist, Rick Altzi (At Vance), which is titled "Novum Initium". After a short but impressive intro, it's time for the opening tune of "The Game". Heavy, catchy with a modern twist and a monstrous riff, "The Game" sounds like the perfect opener for this new record. "Keep Your Dream Alive" is melodic without loosing any of Masterplan's previous elements while "Black Night Of Magic" will rock your world for good. An up-tempo melodic metal anthem that takes no prisoner!! A highlight!!! "Betrayal" and "No Escape" are both good tracks but, for sure, nothin' really breathtaking. "Pray On My Soul" is a great rocker with a superb chorus line and Altzi's powerful performances in front row. "Earth Is Going Down", "Return From Avalon" and "Novum Initium" are all good tracks with very good arrangements, powerful vocal lines and strong guitar lines.  

Bottom line is that Masterplan 's new record can be described as a turn to the band's first two releases. The 'new' vocalist , Rick Altzi, is doin' a superb job here and takes this band to a higher level! The band's musicianship is tight and there are some excellent tunes in it. Check it out!!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
01. Per Aspera Ad Astra
02. The Game
03. Keep Your Dream Alive
04. Black Night Of Magic
05. Betrayal
06. No Escape
07. Pray On My Soul
08. Earth Is Going Down
09. Return From Avalon
10. Through Your Eyes
11. Novum Initium

No comments:

Post a Comment