Saturday, September 17, 2016

REVIEW : Heaven Below / Good Morning Apocalypse (2016)

Heaven Below is a new modern hard rock,metal band and the sure thing is that will make some noise around its name with this debut album which is entitled "Good Morning Apocalypse". Heaven Below achieve to mix perfectly the late 80's hard rock scene with a more powerful, raw sound and the result is simply super!!

Heavy guitars, powerful and totally in-your-face vocals with a strong solid rhythm section Heaven Below have the whole package to become big!! With a strong guest list such as Lita Ford, Udo Dirkschneider, Jason McMaster and Kobra Paige "Good Morning Apocalypse"it comes like a flaming rocket straight to earth with its explosive sound. The choruses are big, loud and stick to your mind at once and the guitar lines are tasteful with some 'crazy' solos! The band consists of Patrick Kennison (Vocals & Guitars (Union Underground/Lita Ford), Lucas Kanopa (Guitars), John Younger (Bass) and Shad Wilhelm (Drums).

Kennison, also, discussed the album’s overall sound, noting its mix of old school rock and more modern elements: “With over 30 songs written, we narrowed it down to the top 12 songs. Udo Dirkschneider, Lita Ford, Jason McMaster and Kobra Paige all stepped up to lend their amazing talents. We feel this album is a powerful culmination of old school metal meets current fresh metal. This kind of undertaking only comes along once in a lifetime, and we think we captured this moment on ‘Good Morning Apocalypse‘.

The first sample of Heaven Below's music comes with the stunning and kick-ass opener tune of "Nefarious Angels (feat. Jason Mc Master)". My first impression of this song was "damn...this is a serious ass-kickin' heavy metal song!!!!". Screaming guitars, an overall 'fat' sound and nothing but in-your-face performances that makes you turn up the volume on 10!!!!

"Follow Me Under" sounds like it jumped out from the late 80's hard rock scene but with more attitude while in "Nightfall Comes To Life" is yet another 'ballsy' modern melodic metal gem at its best. "Killing The Deadman" is by far the heaviest tune of the new album (almost thrash!!!!) and "Death Battalion" continues to deliver some serious heavy stuff!!

"Black Sunrise War Of The Gods" (feat. UDO) is one of the album's highlights. With a more down-to-earth sound and with Mr. Udo on guest vocals as the cherry on top this track grabs you at once!! The excellent theatrical elements here are givin' an extra flavor.

Overall, this is an up-beat and 'ballsy' modern melodic metal record with tons of attitude that will impress every metal-head out there!!!!

Rating : 8,5/10

Track listing: 01. Nefarious Angels (feat. Jason McMaster) 02. Renegade Protest Movement 03. Follow Me Under 04. Devilina And The Damage Done (feat. Kobra Paige) 05. Nightfall Comes To Life 06. Killing The Deadman 07. Running Under Satan’s Hand (feat. Lita Ford) 08. Death Battalion 09. Bonded By Blood 10. Black Sunrise/War Of The Gods (feat. Udo Dirkschneider) 11. Among The Wolves/Worldwide Suicide 12. I Would Do It All Again/Burials At Sunset

No comments:

Post a Comment