Friday, September 23, 2016

REVIEW : HARDLINE / Human Nature (2016)

Hardline is one of these bands that achieved to build a strong reputation around their name with only one album. "Double Eclipse", in 1992, was and still is one of my all time favorite - and I think it is as well as for everyone who loves that kinda of sound - Hard Rock records.

In 2012, Hardline released "Danger Zone" that was, imho, a solid record all the way and iit featured some really great tracks in it in the vain of the band's classic debut. I, also, found very interesting Hardline's "Leaving The End Open" effort. So, after four years, a new Hardline record is a reality!! "Human Nature" is entitled the new opus and once again Hardline is ready to deliver some excellent hard rock stuff with strong melodies and great performances.

Hardline consists of singer Johnny Gioeli, Alessandro Del Vecchio (Rated X, Resurrection Kings, Revolution Saints), guitarist Josh Ramos (The Storm), and the powerful rhythm section of bassist Anna Portalupi (Tarja) and drummer Francesco Jovino (Primal Fear, Jorn).

"Where Will We Go From Here", the opener, is a fast-paced, guitar-driven heavy rocker in the vain of Hardline's latest works, A nice opener with a catchy chorus line and Gioeli's powerful vocal lines in front row! Next, "Nobody's Fool" and the band delivers a more classic-Hardline tune. "Human Nature" is the first highlight from the new opus. A power ballad with a really huge harmony and melody that sticks into your mind. Sensational!!! In "Running On Empty", we have a great and up-tempo rocker with, again, an ultra catchy chorus line while in "Take You Home" Hardline is doin' what knows best; to write a strong and an emotional ballad. "Where The North Wind Blows" is another killer song!! A straight-forward modern rocker with an explosive chorus that makes you wanna whistle it for days!!!

Overall, this is a solid release all the way. For sure, it's not a new "Double Eclipse", that was then this is now! "Human Nature" is a mature and with attitude hard rock platter that includes a little of the magic of the band's earlier sound filled with a more updated and 'punchier' sound that makes the final result extremely interesting.

Rating : 8,5/10

Track Listing :
01. Where Will We Go From Here
02. Nobody's Fool
03. Human Nature
04. Trapped In Muddy Waters
05. Running On Empty
06. The World Is Falling Down
70. Take You Home
08. Where The North Wind Blows
09. In The Dead Of The Night
10. United We Stand
11. Fighting The Battle

No comments:

Post a Comment