Saturday, October 26, 2013

Magion / A Different Shade Of Darkness (2013)

Magion is a female symphonic power metal band, with a lot of Gothic elements, from The Netherlands and "A Different Shade Of Darkness" is called their second release. The album was mixed and produced by Chris Vrij and mastered at FineTune Studios in The Netherlands by Peter van ‘t Riet, who has delivered excellent work in the past for After Forever, Epica, Ayreon, Symphony X and many others. The artwork is created by Jan Yrlund of Darkgrove Graphic Design Studio in Finland.

Their music is complex with great arrangements, superb vocal performances, impressive vocal choirs, very good guitar work, a tight musicianship, beautiful melodies and in most of their songs there is a dark and melancholic vibe. The vocal performances of Myrthe van Beest are powerful and emotional at the same time and givin' to the final result an extra push to take this band to a higher level. The production could be a bit 'bigger' but let's not complain, "A Different Shade Of Darkness" is overall a solid record. Highlights here are the great, powerful and in-your-face opener "Beloved Enemies", the Evanescence-esque "Masquerade", my personal favorite "Out Of Time" and the amazing theatrical-ballad of "Shallow Grounds". Of course there is not a filler in sight here!

All in all, this is an extremely interesting release all the way. A very good symphonic metal album with a lot of power metal/Gothic pinches, superb performances, a tight musicianship, a solid guitar work and well-crafted songs. For the fans of female fronted-metal bands, this is a MUST have! Well done!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
01 – Beloved Enemies
02 – Masquerade
03 – Ever and a Day
04 – Shallow Grounds
05 – Out of Time
06 – Chance to Change
07 – Break the Silence
08 – Untrue
09 – Body’s Betrayal
10 – Neverending Winter  

No comments:

Post a Comment