Tuesday, May 16, 2017

REVIEW : THE FERRYMEN -- The Ferrymen (2017)

The Ferrymen is a new exciting band that consists of the extraordinary guitarist Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear, Magnus Karlsson's Free Fall), vocalist Ronnie Romero (Lords Of Black, Rainbow) and drummer Mike Terrana (Rage, Axel Rudi Pell, and more).

So, with this amazing line-up you can't go wrong! Magnus Karlsson is a synonymous with quality, shredding and well-written songs, no doubt 'bout that. With Allen/Lande, it was delivered some really stunning music that stood in the test of time (especially the first opus, "The Battle"). With The Ferrymen, Magnus continue to deliver solid and powerful melodic metal stuff in the vain of Allen/Lande. Romero has a strong and in-your-face vocal that fits perfectly here and Terrana's thundering drumming is the cherry on top.

The opening tune of "End Of The Road" is awesome!! Heavy, powerful and in-your-face without loosing the melody while Magnus' guitar licks are out of this world. "Ferryman" is much heavier, darker but with a monstrous chorus line that sticks in your mind at once!! "Fool You All", "Still Standing Up" and "Cry Wolf" are all three great samples of pure melodic metal heaven.

And it's time for the first ballad of the debut; "One Heart" is simply huge!! Melodic with a haunting melody in it and, again, with a fantastic chorus line! Romero's vocals here are passionate and this song is among my personal favorites out of "The Ferrymen". The epic and ultra melodious "Enter Your Dream" is killer, just killer!! A track that could be easily appear in Allen-Lande's first classic record. I also loved the fast-paced "Eyes On The Sky" with its great harmonic lines and its absolute catchy chorus line.

The Ferrymen is a melodic metal gem that you fell in love with at first. Excellent musicianship, melodies to die for, great arrangements, killer guitars by one of the best of his kind (Magnus Karlsson) and powerful performances!!! Buy or die!!!

Rating : 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment