Wednesday, April 20, 2016

REVIEW : Jaded Heart / Guilty By Design (2016)

The story of this German hard rock band is well-known to the hard 'n' heavy fans. Jaded Heart since their creation achieved to build a strong reputation around their name with many strong albums. With their first singer, Michael Bormann, they made an impact to the Euro melodic hard rock scene with albums like 'Mystery Eyes', 'IV' or 'The Journey Will Never End'.

After the 'Trust' record, Jaded Heart and Bormann decided to take separate ways. Bormann got envolved in many projects/solo career and Jaded Heart replaced him with Johan Fahlberg. With a new singer and a more heavy direction, Jaded Heart released five solid efforts and nowadays the band is back with a new opus which is entitled "Guilty By Design". "Guilty By Design" is mixed and mastered by Erik MÃ¥rtensson (Eclipse, W.E.T., Nordic Union) and the cover artwork is handled by Thomas Ewerhard.

"No Reason" that opens the new record is a true melodic metal gem!! In-your-face and heavy, melodic and powerful "No Reason" comes to shake our world for good!!! "Godforsaken", "Seven Gates Of Hell" and "Remembering" are all three superb samples of pure and catchy Euro melodic metal stuff that includes memorable hooks and choruses, great arrangements and powerful performances. At this point, I have to say that the work of Erik Martensson can be heard from my miles away!!! "Rescue Me", the first video, is yet another killer cut out of the new record. It's a fast-paced melodious tune with an incredible guitar solo that takes no prisoners!! "Watching You Die" is much heavier but with a huge melody in it while in "Bullying Me" the band delivers another strong metal song. Check out, also, the amazing and 'darker' "This Is The End", which is one of the highlights here. The digipak edition features two bonus tracks.

For sure, this is a great melodic metal stuff all the way that includes some killer tunes in it, great arrangements, powerful and in-your-face performances and an ass-kickin' guitar work!!! Highly recommended for the fans of the Euro melodic metal scene! 

Rating : 8,5/10

Track Listing :
1. No Reason
2. Godforsaken
3. Seven Gates Of Hell
4. Remembering
5. Rescue Me
6. Salvation
7. No Waiting For Tomorrow
8. Watching You Die
9. So Help Me God
10. Bullying Me
11. This Is The End
12. Torn And Scarred
13. My Farewell (Digipak Bonus)
14. My Own Way Down (Digipak Bonus)

No comments:

Post a Comment