Saturday, November 2, 2013


ALMAH started its existence back in 2006 as a solo project of Edu Falaschi (ANGRA's singer). But after the debut release "Almah", the band took flesh and bone and released two more solid efforts, "Fragile Equality" in 2008 and "Motion" in 2011. In 2012, Edu announced his departure from Angra to concentrate only on Almah.

 So, nowadays, the band is releasing its brand new opus which is entitled "Unfold" through Scarlet Records. The album was recorded in São Paulo, Brazil, and was mixed and mastered by Damien Rainaud at Darth Mader Music in Los Angeles, California. The amazing cover artwork was designed by Nathália Suellen, an internationally recognized digital artist from Rio de Janeiro.

"Unfold" is a concept album dedicated to such actions and qualities as overcoming, firmness, persistence and capability to transform bad things into something good. The idea expressed by such symbol as the Lotus flower refers to Oriental philosophy. It’s usually born in a swampy river but able to break through dark and dirty surface, to grow up beautiful and full of life and get to fresh air and sunlight.

The band consists of Edu Falaschi on vocals, Marcelo Barbosa on guitars, Gustavo Di Padua on guitars, Raphael Dafras on bass and Marcelo Moreira on drums. The music is a mix of classic heavy metal, power metal with a strong dose of progressive and a shot of some modern metal/hard rock stuff for balance. The musicianship is tight and all of the above mentioned musicians have the right skills to take this project to a higher music level. There are some excellent tunes here like the beautiful and extremely melodic tune of "Warm Wind", the proggy "I Do", the huge and one of my favorites from this new album "Raise The Sun" the speedy metal anthem of "Cannibals In Suits" and the emotional ballad "Farewell".

Bottom line is that "Unfold" comes to add to this year's already superb releases as another highlight! The musicianship is top notch, the performances are really strong and powerful and the guitar work is the cherry on top! Highly recommended!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List :
01 | In My Sleep
02 | Beware The Stroke
03 | The Hostage
04 | Warm Wind
05 | Raise The Sun
06 | Cannibals In Suits
07 | Wings of Revolution
08 | Believer
09 | I Do
10 | You Gotta Stand
11 | Treasure of The Gods
12 | Farewell

Almah: Edu Falaschi (vocals), Marcelo Barbosa (guitars), Gustavo di Pádua (guitars), Raphael Dafras (bass), Marcelo Moreira (drums)

No comments:

Post a Comment