Thursday, April 25, 2013


This is the debut album of a kinda of a supergroup. Tainted Nation consists of the well-known drummer Marc Cross (Outloud, Firewind), guitarist Ian Nash (Lions Heart), Pontus Egberg of The Poodles and drummer Pete Newdeck of Eden's Curse who is responsible for the lead vocals here.

So, with this impressive line-up, the expectations from this release are big. From the very first spin of "F.E.A.R.", you are gonna realize that this band plays a classic hard rock style with great arrangements, a big and 'fat' guitar sound and a solid production. All the above mentioned elements plus a 'modern' hard rock air and there you have Tainted Nation's debut opus. The vocal performances by Pete Newdeck are overall very good and the rhythm section delivers the goods.

From the extremely catchy opening tune of "Dare You" I'm hooked with Tainted Nation's powerful and in-your-face hard rock stuff. "Loser" is the band's first video-single and it's another fine example of what this band is capable of when it comes to some serious ass-kickin' hard rock track with attitude!! "You Still Hanging Around" is heavier with a monsterous chorus line while "Nothing Like You Seem" is an ok modern rock tune. "Who's Watching You" is again a great track and features a breathtaking drum work by Marc Cross. "Your Only Friend", "Hell Is A Lie" and "Don't Forget Where You Came From" are all good rockers with strong arragements and powerful performances. "Never Promised You Anything" which features the great Ted Poley of Danger Danger is the absolute highlight. It has attitude, a catchy chorus line and a more commercial sound; brilliant stuff!!! The rest of the tracks that closes the album are movin' to the same modern hard 'n' heavy paths as the previous ones.

All in all, this is a very enjoyable album from start to finish!! Some really amazing tunes, the participation of Ted Poley, the 'fat' sound and the tight musicianship are the ingredients of this album! Highly recommended!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track List :
01. Dare you
02. Loser
03. You still hang around
04. Nothing like you seem
05. Who's watching you
06. Your only friend
07. Hell is a lie
08. Don‘t forget where you came from 
09. Never promised you anything (feat. Ted Poley) 
10. Haunted
11. Don't tell me
12. What are you waiting for

No comments:

Post a Comment