Tuesday, October 7, 2014


WONDERWORLD is a new project that consists of Roberto Tiranti (Labyrinth), Ken Ingwersen (Street Legal) and Tom Fossheim (Live Fire). While these guys were recording the latest Ken Hensley album “Trouble”, they came up with the idea to do an album together as a classic rock power-trio, with no keyboards...just pure energetic hard rock. Just based on the rare chemistry of musicianship and friendship, the guys knew that this was something they had to do.

Roberto Tiranti's work is well-known with his main band Labyrinth. He has, also, shared stage with many great musicians, such as: Martin Barre (Jethro Tull), Clive Bunker (ex-Jethro Tull), John Anthony Helliwell (Supertramp), Glenn Hughes (ex-Deep Purple), Billy Preston, Ian Paice (Deep Purple) and more. Ken (JR) Ingwersen is a guitar player in bands like Evenrude, Rags, Speed,
Street Legal and his own solo project; Kens Dojo. Tom has, also, been a member of the Norwegian singer Anita Hegerland's (Mike Oldfield) Starfish Band. He has worked as well with a lot of local artists, such as Ronni LeTekrø (TNT), Tore St.Moren (Jorn), the black metal band Crest of Darkness, the folk/rock band Vestlandsfanden and the rock band Øsekara.

"Wonderworld", the opening tune, is the first sample of this band and I have to admit that it's a great opener! A big groove. Tiranti's amazing vocal lines and a tight as hell musicianship plus a catchy and melodic chorus and there you have the first highlight of the album. "Break The Chains" is yet another groovy track, a bit slower but really solid. "Every Now And Then" is a more straight forward rocker that features a classic hard rock sound and a 'punchier' guitar sound. "The Sound Of The World" is just a killer song; a very atmospheric power-ballad that Tiranti rockets it to a higher level with his stunning performances!! Brilliant stuff!!! Another highlight from the new album is the Kotzen-esque "Hero Without Stains".

Really surprised by WONDERWORLD's debut release; a top notch musicianship, solid and well-written tracks and excellent performances. Plus a really inspired guitar work and there you have a very good album that can't be missed by any fan of the hard rock scene in general!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8/10

Track Listing :

01. Wonderworld
02. Break The Chains
03. Surrender
04. Voices
05. Every Now And Then
06. Noone Knows
07. The Sound Of The World
08. A New Life
09. Hero Without Stains
10. Kissing The Sky

No comments:

Post a Comment