Saturday, April 6, 2013

D-A-D / Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark (2013)

"Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark" was the band's eleventh full album that was originally released in 2011. Nowadays, the band is re-releasing this one in a 'deluxe' package and features five acoustic songs plus a selection of live tracks-classics.

D-A-D is considered as one of the best hard rock acts of the European scene. They have released some classic records and back to their heydays were in a daily basis at MTV. In this album, the band presents a solid record full of rockers, ballads and pop-rock anthems. With the opening tune of "A New Age Moving In" D-A-D is offering  a great rocker with a 'modern' vibe in it and some "The Cult" influences as well. "I Want What She's Got" is anthemic with a great sing-a-long chorus line and a kinda of 80's mood. "Fast On Wheels" is a very good and more pop-ish while in "The Place Of The Heart" the band shows its bluesier-groovier side; really interesting!! "Last Time In Neverland" could easily appeared in any of the band's first releases with its punchier sound. Another highlight from this album is the rockier tune of "Wild Thing In Te Woods". This is an excellent mid-tempo rocker with a 'darker' vibe and some powerful performances. The acoustic tracks all have an alternative feeling without being boring and it's a really nice side of D-A-D. Well done!!  Next coming-up is the live recording which is a must have for each and every single fan of this band! Well-performed with heart and soul and an attitude that is missing from today's hard rock scene.

All in all this, is a brilliant release from a very good band. Even if I'm not a big fan of D-A-D, I have to say that I loved this record!! The 2011's album is solid, the acoustic tracks are all superb and the live cuts kick some serious asses!! Buy it now!!!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List :


01. A New Age Moving In
02. I Want What She's Got
03. The End
04. Fast On Wheels
05. The Place Of The Heart
06. Last Time In Neverland
07. Breaking Them Heart By Heart
08. We All Fall Down
09. Wild Thing In The Woods
10. Can't Explain What It Means
11. Drag Me To The Curb
12. Your Lips Are Sealed



01. I Want What She's Got (Acoustic)
02. The End (Acoustic)
03. A New Age Moving In (Acoustic)
04. Last Time In Neverland (Acoustic)
05. The Place Of The Heart (Acoustic)


06. A New Age Moving In (Live)
07. Jihad (Live)
08. The End (Live)
09. Everything Glows (Live)
10. Ridin’ With Sue (Live)
11. Monster Philosophy (Live)
12. We All Fall Down (Live)
13. Last Time In Neverland (Live)
14. I Want What She’s Got (Live)
15. God’s Favorite (Live)
16. The Place Of The Heart (Live)

No comments:

Post a Comment