Sunday, April 14, 2013


Bon Jovi was and still is one of my all time favorite hard rock/pop-metal acts ever! With album like their huge debut or "New Jersey" and "Slippery When Wet", they achieved to build a strong name in the hard rock world and was a big influence for hundreds of bands . Songs such as "You Give Love A Bad Name", "I'll Be There For You" and "Bad Medicine" are all classics!!

Their later albums (Have A Nice Day, These Days and Bounce) were solid ones, more different but overall very very good. Over the years, they threw the 'hair metal (or pop metal)' label and became more AOR, more a rock band. Okay, I'm not expecting them to release a new "New Jersey" or even a new "Have A Nice Day"; that was then, this is now. Nowadays, the band is back with its twelfth studio album which is titled "What About Now". For me, Bon Jovi have lost their attitude and a bit of their inspiration to write a catchy tune to make you shake and whistle for days. In this album, you can find some good tracks, some average but, also, some bad ones!!! The huge big choruses of the past are long gone, the inspired riffs and solos from one of the greatest guitar heroes (Richie Sambora) are gone too and gave their place to some uninspired rock songs. There are a few good rocking tracks here but they can't save the final result.

Overall, this is an average album for Bon Jovi, imho. There's nothing more to add here except that I will love this band for what they were; one of the biggest Rock 'n' Roll acts ever!!! 
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 5/10 

Track List :
01 - Because We can
02 - I'm With You
03 - What About Now
04 - Pictures Of You
05 - Amen
06 - That's What The Water Made Me
07 - What's Left Of Me
08 - Army Of One
09 - Thick As Thieves
10 - Beautiful World
11 - Room At The End of The World
12 - The Fighter
13 - With These Two Hands (bonus track)
14 - Not Running Anymore (bonus track)
15 - Old Habits Die Hard (bonus track)
16 - Every Road Leads Home To You (bonus track)

No comments:

Post a Comment