Thursday, December 5, 2013

SWITCHBLADE / Heavy Weapons (2013)

If someone would judge this band from the logo (Switchblade), the cover artwork and the album's title, then he/she woul criticize it as pure 80's heavy metal, no doubt 'bout that! And believe me, the same opinion will have after the first notes of the opening track, "Heavy Weapons"!! But let's take things from the start and see some things about who is Switchblade.

Since 2005, the Israeli SWITCHBLADE has been trying to find its place in Metal music. Six years later, along with the shifting Metal sub-genres, several unofficial releases, a few gigs with various of groups within the Israeli Metal scene, plenty of lineup changes, and a few bruises, SWITCHBLADE found its rightful purpose and direction. With a solid and talented lineup that shared the same devotion with the classic years of Metal, the SWITCHBLADE group began writing and playing their material with a strong accordance to their true worship, 80's driven Heavy Metal.

So, as I already said above, their music is pure 80's guitar driven heavy metal in the vain of Iron Maiden and Accept's earlier works and that means powerful performances, heavy and in-your-face guitars, catchy choruses and an overall tight musicianship! The opening "Heavy Weapons" rocks big time while "Euphoria" reminds Iron Maiden at their best! "Metalista" has a more straight forward heavy rock attitude and it's pure 80's delight!! "Lost Lovers Unite" is a very good power ballad that includes a great guitar solo, "Infernal Paradise" is the heaviest song here and "Into The Unknown" is another one Iron Maiden-esque tune.

All in all, this is a very good and in an old-fashion style metal record! These guys are fully committed to the 80's metal scene and that's a thing that reflects to their music!! They put heart and soul and finally deliver a solid record with a bunch of some really well-written songs. For the fans of the pure 80's heavy metal era with a strong dose of Iron Maiden, check 'em out!!
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 7,5/10

1. Heavy Weapons
2. Euphoria
3. Metalista
4. Lost Lovers Unite
5. The Lost Kingdom
6. Infernal Paradise
7. Curse Of The Father, Sins Of The Son
8. Into The Unknown
9. Endless War

Lior “Steinmetal” Stein - Vocals
Federico “FedeRock” Taich - Guitars
Sascha Latman - Bass
Moshe “Moshpit” Sabach - Drums

No comments:

Post a Comment