Saturday, December 7, 2013

LUCID DREAMS / Lucid Dreams (2013)

Lucid Dreams is a new melodic hard rock/metal band from Norway and nowadays they present their self-titled debut album. The band exists since 2007 and they played in numerous gigs during the recent years. Lucid Dreams consists of Fredrik Sindsen on vocals, Rune Gutuen on guitars, Ådne Brandås on guitars/backing vocals, Jan Lysø on bass, Rune Hagen on drums and Thorleif Østmoe on keyboards/backing vocals. The album is produced by the band's guitarist Rune Gutuen, and was mixed and mastered by Tommy Hansen at Jailhouse Studios, Denmark in September 2013.

Their music includes great arrangements, powerful vocal lines, some really inspired and extremely melodic keyboards and an amazing guitar work!! Their music is based on 80's heavy rock stuff with an up-dated melodic metal sound that's givin' the extra flavor to the final result.

After a short intro, it comes the real thing with the heavy and in-your-face "Cassies Escape". This is a guitar-driven heavy rock gem that takes no prisoners with it's huge riffing and its brilliant progressive 'touch'. "For Your Love" is a more straight forward hard rock tune while "Daisy Dukes", the album's first single, is a sensational up-tempo melodic cut with a sing-a-long chorus line. "Lucid Dreams" shows the band's emotional side. A great mid-tempo song with a nice harmony and Fredrik Sindsen's powerful performances. For sure, another highlight from this record!! Other highlights here are the heavier "Take Me Away", "Paranoia" and the darker "Light In The Sky". 

Overall, this is an impressive start from a very promising band!!! I have to say that I enjoyed every single minute of Lucid Dreams' debut album! Great arrangements, huge guitar work, powerful performances and a tight as hell musicianship; these guys have a bright future and I expect bigger things in the near future from them regarding of this brilliant debut! Well done!  
Heavy Paradise's Rating : 8,5/10

Track List :
1. Introduction
2. Cassies Escape
3. For Your Love
4. Daisy Dukes
5. Closing The Deal
6. Lucid Dream
7. Stormy
8. Take Me Away
9. Paranoia
10. Wanton Conquest
11. Light In The Sky
12. When I Die

No comments:

Post a Comment